Blackmore’s Night

Blackmore’s Night is an English Renaissance-inspired medieval folk musical crew driven by UK guitarist Ritchie Blackmore (electric and acoustic guitars) and Candice Night (lyricist and lead vocals).

The origins of the band lie in 1990 when Candice was working at a nearby New York shake music radio station, and as a major aspect of her work first experienced Ritchie (presently ex-Deep Purple/Rainbow guitarist), at that point with Deep Purple, at a soccer match-up he was playing in. The two turned out to be impractically laced and discovered that they shared a passionate interest in the Renaissance.

In the wake of leaving Deep Purple in 1993 and recording a collection as Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow called Stranger in Us All in 1995, on which Candice contributed backing vocals, Ritchie ended up interested in carrying Renaissance music to a contemporary group of spectators. The effervescent personality of Candice and her singing ability settled on her the regular decision as “frontman”. In 1997 the pair were prepared to dispatch the band, the name being a play on words of their own names, and which would consist of themselves plus session musicians.

Introduction collection Shadow of the Moon was an instant success, most remarkably in Europe. In subsequent albums, especially Fires at Midnight, there was an increased consolidation of shake guitar into the music, whilst keeping up a folk shake heading. After some time, Candice has increasingly taken an interest instrumentally as well as singing the vocals, and is skillful in a wide assortment of Renaissance instruments.

The gathering performs at Renaissance Fairs and Renaissance Festivals, as well as in stand-alone show tours in suitable venues including ‘castle tours’ of Europe, where they perform in historic surroundings for a group of people dressed to a great extent in period costume. The band has been successful enough to inspire a tribute band called Renaissance Night.

Their 2006 collection, Village Lanterne, contains of more shake songs than prior albums, including covers of Street of Dreams (Rainbow), Child in Time (Deep Purple), St Theresa (Joan Osborne) and Streets of London (Ralph McTell).

On June 27, 2008, the band’s latest collection, Secret Voyage, was released.